ask Knox: sales, tricks and standards

17Dec08

mailbox2Dear Knox,
I’m bursting at the seams. I live in a small town in western Iowa and I haven’t been laid in over a year. I’m strongly considering a drive across state lines and putting good money down on a hired pro in Omaha, if you catch my drift. I’ve never done this before and I don’t feel particularly proud, but I’m not sure what else to do. Please advise.



I was a salesman once in Atlanta. My boss was a fair man, but still, he was in sales, and wouldn’t carry dead weight. One week, when I was particularly down on my luck, he gave me an envelope and said, “Don’t open this until the end of the week.” I went out, got lucky, pulled myself out of the rut, and made it to Friday without completely losing my grip. I opened the envelope over a cup of coffee at Denny’s. It simply read, “If you didn’t make your quota this week, you’re fired.” I asked the guy about it on Monday and he told me, “Desperation is a stinky cologne. If I had to bring down the axe, I didn’t want to hover it over your head all goddamn week. That wouldn’t have gotten you any sales.”

The point I’m digressing from is this: don’t pay for sex. Go out to Omaha and close like you don’t know your life depends on it. And for God’s sake, keep your standards low.



No Responses Yet to “ask Knox: sales, tricks and standards”

  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

