heartbroke audio: Lover Lover Lover by Leonard Cohen

12Mar09

new_skin_for_the_old_ceremony

I was at a dinner party in Savannah, Georgia when I first heard this cut. The party was in an old colleague’s gloriously restored pre-civil war plantation house, which fit my mood perfectly – I was deep in the throes of heartache at the time and was detached from conversation all night. When I excused myself to use the bathroom, instead of finding magazines or coffee table books next to the toilet, there was a walkman, sitting on a silver platter. The tape was Cohen’s New Skin For The Old Ceremony, cued up to the start of this track.

I listened to this track three times in a row, rewinding it as soon as it finished. So many times, when I’ve been devestated by the loss of a lover, I’ve cursed my life, and wished I could have lived a different a life. This song captures that sentiment perfectly, wanting them to come back, or, alternately, wanting to be someone else entirely



No Responses Yet to “heartbroke audio: Lover Lover Lover by Leonard Cohen”

  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

