diversion: 1001 rules for my unborn son

21May09

esquireWhen I was in my early teens, I started reading Esquire magazine, though I’m not exactly sure why. I think I sensed that my father wasn’t doing a good enough job of teaching me how to be a man, so I wanted to find more reputable sources. I certainly wasn’t old enough to understand most of the advice or to contextualize the worldview presented, but still, I thought it assisted in me my two noble(?) goals of both being manly and being sophisticated. I haven’t picked it up since, except maybe in the Doctor’s office, but I still believe that there’s a need for discourse in unearthing how to be an effective, 21st century man. It’s with this in mind that I’d like to share today’s diversion, 1001 rules for my unborn son, a simple blog, with clear written thoughts on how to achieve manhood.

While I don’t agree with ALL the advice, most of it is valid, simple, and worth considering for anyone, man or woman. Things like “212. Make yourself useful on a boat,” and “36. If you absolutely have to fight, punch first and punch hard,” is the type of advice we all need vocalized at least once in our lives. Enjoy.



No Responses Yet to “diversion: 1001 rules for my unborn son”

  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

