diversions: I Wrote This For You

02Jun09

IWroteThisForYouI Wrote This For You

I have no idea what the real story behind this blog is. It was sent to me by an old friend,  who said it reminded her of me. The blog, is the online equivalent of scrawling a message for someone who left you on the inside of a paperback and then leaving it in a park, never knowing whether or not they’re going to see it, but hoping, wishing.

The heading of the blog reads:

I need you to understand something. I wrote this for you. I wrote this for you and only you. Everyone else who reads it, doesn’t get it. They may think they get it, but they don’t. This is the sign you’ve been looking for. You were meant to read these words.

Then, each post couples a haunting photograph with a short message to the writers lost love. Messages, such as:

“I used to carve your name in trees, hoping you would find them. The internet has made this so much easier than it used to be.

Or:

“I leave clues everywhere. But you don’t see them. I’m hoping one day, someone will find this and show it to you.

Another one I enjoyed:

“Remember when we used to fight over whose music we’d listen to in the car? I was too this and you were too that. And so we compromised and sat in the silence.

I haven’t heard that in a while.”

Never have I seen the ephemeral nature of the internet medium used so well to articulate loss. I hope the writer never winds up reuniting with his muse.



7 Responses to “diversions: I Wrote This For You”

  1. 1 Sarah

    So after reading your blog post and visiting the website i was thinking about what you said about hoping the author never winds up reuniting with his muse. do you think he would stop being able to write if he was happy and got what he longed for? do you think the only good writing comes from unrequited love? and do you think your writing would be the same if you met the girl you’ve been searching for? or do you think that no girl fills the bill because you are sabotaging yourself?

  2. Ahhh, Sarah, what interesting questions?!

  3. I’ve always thought that real writers can write without a muse.

    But I also know that everyone is different.

  4. 4 K*

    I found this site 2 days ago too..
    I loved it, and realised that this is what i wanted to write, and how i wanted to write.

    maybe i’ve failed at blogging. oh well.

  5. 5 anny

    in addition: dearoldlove.com

  6. Don’t worry guys, Iain will not stop writing (at least not anytime soon). Happy or otherwise, he knows how important his works are to other people. He and Jon will be releasing a compilation of selected posts from I Wrote This For You in book form.

  7. I Wrote This For You was started in July of 2007 by Iain Thomas and Jon Ellis, who met one day in a shady backroom on the internet, although they’ve never actually met in real life.

    The main reason behind this is that the words (Iain Thomas) live in South Africa while the pictures (Jon Ellis) live in Japan. Naturally, this makes it hard to pop round for a cup of tea.

    I Wrote This For You is published 5 days a week except around about Christmas time when everyone takes a well deserved break.

    :)

    Fantastic website,
    Thought I’d tell you where it came from.


Leave a Reply

